What happens if a golf ball hits another ball on the green?

If you putt your ball, and it strikes a competitors ball (which is also on the green) you will incur a 2 shot penalty (stroke play only). Your ball will be played from where it lies, and your friend’s ball returned to its original resting position. In match play, also no penalty.

What happens if your ball hits another ball on the green?

No Penalty to Any Player

Exception – Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play: If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes).

Is it a penalty to hit another ball on green?

What is the ruling? Answer: In stroke play = two stroke penalty for a player’s ball after a stroke on the putting green, hitting a ball at rest on the putting green. In match play = no penalty.

Is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green 2021?

There is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping) moves another ball. … However, in stroke play, when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes.

THIS IS EXCITING:  What is sole of golf shoe?

What happens if you hit someone else’s golf ball?

A player who hits someone else’s ball in match play loses the hole, according to Rule 15-3a. As in stroke play, there is an exception for a ball that’s in motion within a water hazard; no penalty is assessed, provided the player corrects his mistake by playing his original ball, or a substituted ball.

What happens when two golf balls hit?

If both golf balls are on the green before a stroke is played that results in balls colliding, it’s a 2-stroke penalty against the golfer whose stroke caused the collision (the golfer whose ball was at rest when struck is not penalized). Note: This is a penalty in stroke play only.

What if two balls are touching on the fairway?

If neither ball or just one of the two balls is on the green when the collision happens, then good news! … As for the player whose ball was struck, they’re to return their golf ball to as close as they can to where it was before the collision and play from there with no penalty.

Can you change balls on the green?

You can always use a new ball when starting a hole. You can also substitute a different ball any time you are taking relief, including both free and penalty relief. … On the putting green however, when you mark and lift your ball, you must replace that same ball to finish out the hole.

What if an animal moves your golf ball?

If your ball is moved by an outside influence, such as an animal or a spectator, there is no penalty to anyone and the ball must be replaced. If your ball is moved by a natural force, such as wind, water, or gravity, you will usually play the ball from its new location without penalty.

THIS IS EXCITING:  What happens if I hit the wrong ball in golf?