Many OBX communities allow standard golf carts in housing subdivisions (for use to getting to/from the beach, ONLY). … A standard golf cart is not street legal (in most places), and can be ticketed by law enforcement if used on a public road. Standard golf carts cannot be used after sunset.
Can you drive golf carts in Nags Head?
Golf carts must be registered and tagged for use on the streets in Nags Head. However, they can only be driven on State roads and on side roads (where the speed limit is 35 mph or less). … For more information, contact Nags Head’s Police Department at 252-441-6386.
Are golf carts allowed in Southern Shores?
Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, and Southern Shores: LSVs are allowed on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less. Golf Carts are not allowed.
Are golf carts allowed on Hatteras Island?
The ordinance was passed that summer, and since then, golf carts have been allowed on all streets and roads in Hatteras village west of and including Austin Road and Austin Lane, in areas where the speed limit is 35 mph.
Is it legal to drive a golf cart on the road in NC?
No person may operate a golf cart unless that person is licensed to drive upon the public streets, roads and highways of North Carolina and then, only in accordance with such valid driver’s license. … In addition, no golf cart containing any open container of alcohol shall be operated on public roads.
Are golf carts allowed in Avon NC?
Golf carts have become a popular way to get around the island. … Currently golf carts are allowed in Avon (permitted on certain streets), Waves (permitted on 2 streets), and Hatteras Village (permitted on Highway 12 and other roadways within the village).
Are golf carts allowed in Rodanthe NC?
Yes they are allowed, but in order to drive them on hwy 12 they must be a LSV(low speed vehicle golf cart). These carts go up to 35 mph and have license plates.
Does Atlantic beach allow golf carts?
On November 2, 2018, the Town of Atlantic Beach began allowing golf carts that are registered with the Town and that meet specific safety requirements to be operated on the public streets with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less; except for NC 58 (Ft. Macon Road) and the Atlantic Beach Causeway.
How much is an LSV golf cart?
A four-passenger golf cart with basic features has an average cost between $7,900 and $8,400.
Where can LSV be used?
Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)
Must be certified to meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) to be registered and operated on public streets, roads, or highways. Not be operated on any roadway with a speed limit above 35 mph. Cross state highways only at controlled intersections.
Are golf carts allowed in Frisco NC?
LSVs are allowed in Frisco anywhere the speed limit is 35 mph or less. NOTE FROM FRISCO WOODS CAMPGROUND: Golf carts must be PARKED by 10pm and driven by no one under the age of 16 with out legal guardian on board.
What makes a golf cart street legal in NC?
What Does a Golf Cart Need to Be Street Legal? To be legally operated on the roads, your cart must be equipped with headlights, taillights, turn signals, brake lights, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, seat belts, a windshield, horn, and DOT-approved tires.
Are golf carts allowed on Sunset Beach NC?
Can a golf cart be operated on the streets in Sunset Beach? Golf Carts may not be operated on any Town, County, or State road in North Carolina unless the driver has a valid driver’s license and the vehicle has been registered and inspected by DMV.
Do you need a driver’s license to drive a golf cart in NC?
According to the NCDOT, you have to have your driver’s license on you when operating a golf cart on public roads and streets in North Carolina. If you are taking your cart out onto the road, make sure you have your license on you at all times.