Is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green?

If you putt your ball, and it strikes a competitors ball (which is also on the green) you will incur a 2 shot penalty (stroke play only). Your ball will be played from where it lies, and your friend’s ball returned to its original resting position.

What happens if I hit another golf ball on the green?

Rules of Golf explained: Our expert says

If it’s stroke play, and if your ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green – and both balls were on the green before the stroke – you’re going to pay a hefty price. … In stroke play, the player required to lift or mark has the option to play first.

Is it a penalty if you hit someones ball on the green?

In stroke play only, if both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, the player making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes (Rule 19-5a). The moved ball must be replaced (Rule 18-5) and the striking ball is played from where it came to rest. In match play there is no penalty.

Is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green 2021?

There is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping) moves another ball. … However, in stroke play, when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes.

THIS IS EXCITING:  You asked: How does the cold affect a golf ball?

What happens when you hit someone else’s ball in golf?

A player who hits someone else’s ball in match play loses the hole, according to Rule 15-3a. As in stroke play, there is an exception for a ball that’s in motion within a water hazard; no penalty is assessed, provided the player corrects his mistake by playing his original ball, or a substituted ball.

What if two balls are touching on the fairway?

If neither ball or just one of the two balls is on the green when the collision happens, then good news! … As for the player whose ball was struck, they’re to return their golf ball to as close as they can to where it was before the collision and play from there with no penalty.

Are there any 2 stroke penalties in golf?

A golfer can be penalized two strokes if he interferes with another player’s shot by hitting the ball or causing something else, such as a club or bag, to hit the ball.